PDA

View Full Version : Les Teacher

Brigit Astar
05-21-2010, 03:52 PM
"You got a B in Chemistry!"

"Sure did."

"How is that possible! Last quarter you had the same grade I did—an F. You failed it! How can you go up from an a F to a B in one quarter?"

Ginger Mully was questioning her best friend Melissa Runnels on the increase in her grade. They were in the lunchroom during lunch break. They had just that day received their report cards for the quarter. Both were seventeen years old, high school seniors, and due to graduate in the spring—if they kept their grades up and passed everything—which was in doubt for Ginger.

Melissa gave out a smug smile. "Maybe I studied and really applied myself—to Chemistry."

"You haven't studied any more than I have," Ginger snorted. "And as for applying yourself, you're the laziest person I've ever known. You're lazier than I am—and that's pretty lazy."

Melissa shrugged nonchalantly. "All I know is, I got a B in Chemistry. That means that I have an average of a B in all grades—and that means I'll be able to be accepted to college—if I choose to attend."

Ginger blinked at Melissa, and then gave out a sigh and wagged her head. "I just don't understand it. What I do understand is that I got an F in Chemistry—which means that I am failing it—which means that I won't be able to graduate this spring. I'll have to go to summer school and make up the Chemistry grade—if that's possible, which I have my doubts it is."

"That won't be necessary," Melissa said.

"What do you mean, it won't be necessary? It's a fact. I'm failing Chemistry—I got an F."

"Yeah, but that can be changed—just like my F was changed to a B."

Ginger stared at Melissa in mystification. "What are you talking about, anyway? I don't get you. What do you mean, my grade can be changed from an F to a B? What do you do—wave a magic wand or something and have your grade changed?"

Melissa snickered. "No, there's no magic involved in it at all."