PDA

View Full Version : Our little secret, Part I

slyder
08-12-2010, 02:51 PM
This is my first attempt at writing a story, I appreciate any and all feedback. I apologize for the length. Thanks.

I hustled to clear my desk and head out the door, Angie, my secretary, called back at me, "Leaving early Mr. Allen?" Yes, I said stating today was a perfect summer day to get in a early round of golf and a few beers at the clubhouse especially since my wife and daughter were out of town on their annual resort spa trip. As I headed out the door I heard Angie say "Well don't forget your wife's birthday, I don't want you in the doghouse" Oh damn I thought, I had not forgot her birthday, but I did forget to buy her a present. My wife is not one of these people that believe in the saying, "it’s the thought that counts". Gift cards or nice dinners did not work with her, she wants "stuff"! Damn, I thought, there goes my afternoon plans, instead of doing man stuff I will spend my afternoon shopping!

I spent nearly the next 2 hours aimlessly roaming from store to store trying to find something that would satisfy my wife' standards. Just as I was resigned to give up I heard someone say, "hey Mr. Allen, what are doing here?" I turned and looked, it was my daughter's best friends, Megan and Ashley. "Oh I just love hanging out at the mall," I said sarcastically. "I am sure you know it is Mrs. Allen's birthday tomorrow, so I am desperate to find her something" I said. "Oh we know," the girls said, "Jill was telling us about all the hot masseurs at that resort they are at!" as they giggled. "Maybe we can help?" Megan said. "Yeah, we have been shopping a million times with Mrs. Allen" Ashley said. Although I was slightly uncomfortable with the thought of walking around a mall with two teenage girls, I said, "Sure, I could really use the help!"