PDA

View Full Version : Sadie

LetoII
07-20-2012, 11:11 PM
How had I fallen so far and so quickly?

It had started out so, so simply. I had taken a job as the Assistant Vice-Principle, and looking to impress the school officials, I jumped at the chance to take over the EMA program – the Early Morning Achievers. This was a group of 7 kids that met two days a week before the school day started, handling whatever needed to be handled at the student level.

Now I had been working for the school district for the prior 12 years, and I will admit that while I have had some unclean thoughts over this period (after all, do you see what these high school girls wear today?), I also took great pains to never acknowledge, in ANY way, that any specific student had ‘that’ type of attention from me. And I certainly would never, NEVER act on those thoughts.

On at least that was my view before this all happened …

On a Thursday morning (we met every Tuesday and Thursday), one of the kids, Sadie, didn’t show. I didn’t think much about it until later in the day when I noticed her at school. I meant to pull her aside, but days being as they are I simply forgot about it. But when she was a no-show again the following Tuesday I pulled her into my office so I could determine if she was just tired of the morning meetings or if something else was going on.

“Sadie, I know that you don’t have to be in the EAM program, but it really …” She cut me off mid-sentence and I could see tears at the edge of her eyes.

“Mr … Mr C … I know … I WANT to be there … but I guess I can’t …”

It came down to her folks. It was one thing to get her to school by 8:30am, but an entirely different story in getting her to school by 6:30. Her mother was just too busy getting her younger sister ready for school.

“How about your dad? Could he help you out Sadie?”