PDA

View Full Version : Shannon's Spiral

ROCKETSPEEDFISH
07-12-2013, 01:26 AM
It’s kind of hard to explain how it all happened. I guess I’ll start with where I believe it started. I fell in love with my husband at a young age. I don’t think I was able to distinguish passion from love. We weren’t responsible and I ended up getting pregnant before I graduated high school. Luckily, Mark was a hard worker and was set on proving that he could make a living for our family. Like everyone, the first few years were really tough as we scraped by and borrowed tons of money from anyone that was willing to lend out a helping hand.

Mark worked as a life insurance agent and did pretty well despite the high turnover rate. I’ve been working as a part time tutor for the past two years and I was able to bring in a small amount that helped with our debts. Ben recently turned 12 and we were in a pretty comfortable place. Slowly paying off our debts and starting to save money, it looked like things could only get better.

It was summer now and Mark and I decided it was time that Ben experienced summer camp. With Ben gone at camp, my phone was ringing off the hook from anxious mom’s looking desperately for someone to get their kids into a university. I had an objective outlook and asked all my potential clients how much they would be willing to pay me. I created a spreadsheet that calculated how much I would be making from each prospective client. All the offers were pretty much in the same ball park. It was only a matter of randomly choosing which job to take up. I decided to go with the most polite woman that I talked with. She went by Mrs. Hensley and her son, Josh, was not only struggling with the standardized tests but school in general. We agreed upon meeting three times a week, weekends excluded, for 4 hours. I would be making around $2,000 a month, which was generous for a part time job.