PDA

View Full Version : My Lab Partner (M/M)

tomlin
02-07-2014, 12:14 PM
While most people choose to take easy classes during their senior year of high school, I chose the hard route of advanced placement and honors courses. While most of them offered quite the challenge, there was one that was not necessarily easier, but much more enjoyable than the rest: advanced physics. I loved physics. As a sophomore, I took basic physics and fell in love with it. Everything about the class was fun: the labs, the teacher, and even his insanely tricky tests. So senior year, when the announcement came out that there were enough students to create an advanced physics class, I gladly switched into it.

Unfortunately, when I stepped into class on the first day, I noticed something. Out of the whole class, I was the only senior. In fact most of the people in the class were sophomores. So, sadly, I knew no one in the class. I wanted to take physics badly, so I wasn't going to switch out, but I knew that not knowing anyone would make the class much less enjoyable.

The thing I feared most was choosing lab partners. I knew that finding two people to make a group with would be impossible. However, luckily, I ended up dodging a bullet. We chose lab partners after two weeks. A few days before, we had taken our first test, which was on mostly basic stuff. Since most of the students were sophomores, though, they had never taken any type of physics class before. So, naturally, nearly everyone failed, and the class average on it was below a 60%. But since I had already taken basic physics, I passed it with flying colors. Needless to say, I instantly became popular in that class, and when it was time to pick lab partners, I had nearly the whole class wanting to pair up with me.