PDA

View Full Version : My Time in the Hallway

ChiJohnny
05-06-2015, 06:00 PM
When I first met my wife, Kelly, I was a successful mortgage broker making a better than comfortable salary and living a better than average life. A few years later, during financial crisis, I was forced to find a new field. I ended up finding a much lower paying assistant, or clerk, for a stockbroker, Darren. He was a salesman type guy. 6'5" 350. Very confident, ex college athlete, cocky and well off. Darren had a quote on his desk that read 'customers prefer their broker be an asshole'. And as I worked in the business I realized he was not far off. He was never afraid to 'go there and ask tough questions'. I was making a small base salary and having a tough time making a living wage. Kelly was working as a nanny but not making a whole lot either. Times were tough. Kelly was becoming resentful. Our sex life suffered big time.

As I hung out with Darren from time to time I saw how much he threw around money. He didn't care about dropping big dough for something fun or wasteful in most people's eyes. I watched as he spent thousands at strip clubs or hundreds for a steak lunch. As we hung out and got closer I confided in him about our financial situation. Telling him about how I needed to bring in more income. Hoping as Christmas approached he would give me a big bonus for the end of year. I was imagining a few thousand would be nothing to him and a lot to me. I was wishing for that big bonus. And I realized be careful what you wish for.